The little journo that could

I'm still not really sure what's going on but look, I'm typing with my eyes closed.

The new girl

I’d like to think my first day at my new job was a success, considering I came into work today and discovered a story I’d written on the front page of the paper.

There’s a different feeling being the new reporter, as opposed to being the intern. I don’t know if it feels this way for everyone, but I feel far more at home. Maybe it’s because I have my very own desk, computer, and log in account, or maybe it’s just because the people I work with are patient, helpful, and absolutely lovely, but I think what it probably comes down to is my frame of mind.

I finally feel as though I deserve to be here. I got the job because I impressed them and worked hard throughout the year to get good experience and grades. It wasn’t a case of me walking up and asking to do experience, and them putting up with me while I pottered away on some story. I was actually wanted. That’s a really great feeling, and I’d say it’s a good part of the reason I feel so comfortable.

I’ve observed that notes seem to pop up magically in my workspace without me noticing. I was working away at my computer when I glanced to my left and noticed a note with a name, phone number, and instructions not to name the person in the story I was working on. I never saw anybody put the note there, so I can only assume it is witchcraft. Later in the day, I noticed a sticky note on the bottom of my monitor telling me a patient I’d been calling the hospital about had been discharged. Where did this information come from? One can only wonder.

If the random notes aren’t confusing enough, I somehow ended up with four phonebooks on my desk.

Today I found myself wondering if journalists develop a special ability to stop elderly people rambling during interviews. The woman I was speaking to was lovely, but boy, could she talk. When the photographer and I were finally ready to go, she would not let us leave before taking a fun-sized chocolate bar each. She then grabbed my arm, pulled me in closer, and said “You have a very pale face”.

It’s an interesting job, there’s no denying that.

Leave a comment